Book Reviews

Book Review: THEY BOTH DIE AT THE END by Adam Silvera

33385449 Photo Credit: Goodreads

 

They Both Die at the End was one of the books that YA Twitter raved about this past summer. I wanted to be able to take part in the discussion, so I read both History Is All You Left Me and They Both Die at the End. Before I jump into the review, here’s a look at the synopsis:

“On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure and to live a lifetime in a single day.”

Untitled design

Oh, where to start with this one? It somehow seems fitting to start with the ending. The ending of the novel broke me and made me tear up. Adam Silvera has a way of making you become so attached to the characters, but not letting you realize it until they’re taken away. Death is a topic that I don’t always like to think about, so reading this book was a bit of a push for me. I’m extremely glad that I did it.

They Both Die at the End focuses on the importance and potential of every second and every minute. It also emphasizes the importance of connection and human relationships. I loved both Mateo and Rufus to death (no pun intended). They Both Die at the End really makes you feel deep down, so if you’re going to read this one then be prepared to have your heartstrings tugged.

They Both Die at the End is such a unique concept. While it’s YA contemporary, it also has dark futuristic elements within it as well that help to add to the tone of the novel. In addition, it’s ownvoices and has Cuban, Puetorican, gay, and bisexual representation. They Both Die at the End was definitely worth the hype, and I enjoyed it a tad more than I did History Is All You Left Me.

To wrap this review up, I wanted to share what I jotted down right after I finished reading They Both Die at the End. “We’re all living on time we borrowed for the universe. What we do with that time is up to us.”

4.5/5 stars

As always,

Happy reading, happy writing, and happy blogging!

-Breeny

Leave a Reply

