Book Reviews

Book Review: WARCROSS by Marie Lu

 

29385546 Photo Credit: Goodreads

I finally got to read Warcross, and I can definitely say that the wait was worth it and that they hype was so well-deserved. Before I jump into the review, here’s a quick look at the summary:

“For the millions who log in every day, Warcross isn’t just a game—it’s a way of life. The obsession started ten years ago and its fan base now spans the globe, some eager to escape from reality and others hoping to make a profit. Struggling to make ends meet, teenage hacker Emika Chen works as a bounty hunter, tracking down players who bet on the game illegally. But the bounty hunting world is a competitive one, and survival has not been easy. Needing to make some quick cash, Emika takes a risk and hacks into the opening game of the international Warcross Championships—only to accidentally glitch herself into the action and become an overnight sensation.

Convinced she’s going to be arrested, Emika is shocked when instead she gets a call from the game’s creator, the elusive young billionaire Hideo Tanaka, with an irresistible offer. He needs a spy on the inside of this year’s tournament in order to uncover a security problem . . . and he wants Emika for the job. With no time to lose, Emika’s whisked off to Tokyo and thrust into a world of fame and fortune that she’s only dreamed of. But soon her investigation uncovers a sinister plot, with major consequences for the entire Warcross empire.”

Untitled design

There were so many great aspects of this book that I almost don’t know where to start. So first Emika Chen is one of my favorite YA protagonists. She’s badass, incredibly smart, and it’s overall great. I’m always always always down for more great portrayals of WoC protagonists in STEM. Warcross gets major points for that. Hideo is such a messy smol bean who only wants to do good even if that means being evil. I’m not really sure how I feel about the romance in Warcross, so it’ll be interesting to see how it further develops. I also can’t wait for the friendships formed to be further developed in the second book. I see the beginning of a great YA squad being formed, but we shall see.

The level of rebuilding in Warcross is mindboggling. The story is set in a Futuristic Tokyo which is so well crafted, rich, and immersive. You can feel how much thought and often Marie Lu went into developing every nook and cranny of the world, and it results in a transportive and immersive experience. It was so easy for me to be sucked into the story, and most of that is due to the level of worldbuilding.

While I did call the plot twist, it didn’t leave me any less shook. I know some readers didn’t like that they were able to call the plot twist because they felt that that made it too predictable, but honestly it just made me feel smart. I can rarely guess plot twists before they happen. The ending left me really really shook. I can’t go into depth because then I’d be spoiling the last fourth of the book, and I don’t want to do that. I’ll just say that I’m incredibly happy that there’ll be a second book, because if this was a standalone I wouldn’t be able to deal. I NEED the second book.

If you all are looking for a great immersive YA sci-fi that’s ownvoices and features a WoC in color in stem, or are just looking for a book that’ll suck you in and make you keep turning the pages all the way to the end, then I definitely recommend Warcross.

5/5 stars

As always,

Happy reading, happy writing, and happy blogging!

-Breeny

13 thoughts on “Book Review: WARCROSS by Marie Lu

  1. Great review! Personally i like when I can call a plot twist if it’s well executed because then i feel like the author did a good job of laying out the ground work! as long as it’s not too cheesy and obvious. that being said i haven’t read warcross but plan to and now i’m curious to see if i’ll be able to call it lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve heard nothing but great things about this book, so I am so glad you enjoyed it so much as well! It sounds like such a powerful but relevant book. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

