Writing

Writing Update: So Nanowrimo Starts Next Week?!

 

office work business table desk workspace notebook journal pen brown minimalist

image

Untitled design

If you all don’t know, Nanowrimo starts next week!! Nanowrimo stands for National Novel Writing Month, and writers from all over the world come together to write 50K within the month. I’ve participated for 3 years, and I absolutely love the community. If you haven’t heard of it before and are curious, I encourage you to check the site. It’s not too late to jump in and join!

In my last writing update post, I talked about how I was doing a lot of worldbuilding for a fantasy novel. However, at the time I had another idea that I had pushed aside. I’m here to tell you that I’ve decided to embrace the plot bunny. It’s very possible that I’ll be jumping between both projects, but my focus will be on outlining and hopefully drafting the plot bunny during Nano.

“Wait…Breeny, did you say outlining?” Indeed, I did. The plot bunny idea (which I’m for now calling Bri’s Summer Story) is semi-prepared, but in no way ready to begin being drafted. I have a general idea of the plot, have flushed out 3 of the 4 main characters, but I still need to work on the conflict. (If any of you have tips for how to brainstorm ideas for conflict, I’d love to hear them.) I planned on flushing out the story by the end of this month, but alas, school derailed that.

I thought about not participating in Nano because my story isn’t ready, but I decided against that. Nano is such a special time of the year and I look forward to it every year, and I don’t want to miss it. Because I handwrite my brainstorming notes and outline, I’m putting those words toward the 50k. If I begin drafting, those words will also go to towards the 50k. If I don’t begin drafting during Nano, I’ll end the month with a really solid outline, which would be just as awesome.

So, I wanted to share a little bit about Bri’s Summer Story, but I also don’t want to give too much away. Basically, it follows the story of a black Muslim teen during the summer before her senior year of high school. Below is the aesthetic:

20188888888 Novel

I’m absolutely in love with this aesthetic, and I hope you all like it as well. BSS (I’m still working on a title) focuses on family, friendship, and faith. It’ll include aspects of race, region, sexuality identity, and socioeconomic status. I’m so freaking in love with the group of friends, so I’m going to introduce them below.

First up, is the main character Sabriya (who goes by Bri)

Bri

  • dancer
  • lives in an interfaith household
  • loves adventure
  • The first part of the story that came to me

 

Next up is Zakat

Zakat

  • wants to be a lawyer
  • biracial (black and Indian)
  • knows who she is
  • I can’t wait her

 

Then there’s Hana

Hanna

  • loves space, the universe, and coding
  • bisexual
  • wants to make a difference in the world, but doesn’t know where to start

 

Then last, but not least, is Mahnoor. I haven’t finished up her aesthetic yet, but she’s awesome as well. What do you think of the story and/or characters? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

If you’re a student, as I am, and are doing Nanowrimo this year, definitely let me know in the comments. If you want to be writing buddies feel free to add me as a friend. My profile name is BreenyBop, and I’m always looking for more writing buddies. It’d be awesome if we shared writing advice and tips in the comments below as well. I’m so so excited for Nano, and I hope you all too!

As always,

Happy writing, happy reading, and happy blogging!

-Breeny

2 thoughts on “Writing Update: So Nanowrimo Starts Next Week?!

  1. I really like your characters(especially Bri and Hanna) your story and the overall concept. Based off the brief description you gave, the group seems like its going to have a interesting dynamic.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

