Book Reviews

ARC Review: LOVE, HATE, AND OTHER FILTERS by Samira Ahmed

 

35134472 Photo Credit: Goodreads

 

I was able to read an arc of Love, Hate, and Other Filters in exchange for an honest review via Edelweiss+.

I don’t know if many of you all know, but if you don’t, Love, Hate, and Other Filters is one of my most anticipated 2018 releases. So when I saw a tweet saying to go request it over on Edelweiss+, I clicked the link so fast. Fast forward two to three months, and I still hadn’t heard anything so I assumed that I wasn’t going to be accepted. But then on Eid-Al-Adha in Septemeber, I got an email from Edelweiss saying that I’d been approved. I screamed, I was so freaking happy and the timing was perfect. I mean there’s really no better feeling than getting approved to read an arc that you really really wanted to read, you know? Here’s a look at the synopsis:

In this unforgettable debut, a Muslim teen copes with Islamophobia, cultural divides among peers and parents, and a reality she can neither explain nor escape. 

American-born seventeen-year-old Maya Aziz is torn between worlds. There’s the proper one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter: attending a college close to their suburban Chicago home, and being paired off with an older Muslim boy who’s “suitable” to her mother. And then there is the world of her dreams: going to film school and living in New York City—and maybe, just maybe, pursuing a boy she’s known from afar her entire life who’s suddenly falling into her orbit at school.

But unbeknownst to Maya, there is a danger looming beyond her control. When a terrorist attack occurs in another Midwestern city, the prime suspect happens to share her last name. In an instant, Maya’s community, consumed by fear and hatred, becomes unrecognizable, and her life changes forever.”

 

Untitled design

 

It’s safe to say that the arc of Love, Hate, and Other Filters is one of my favorite reads of this year. First off, it’s extremely realistic and needed, especially in this day in age. As a Muslim teen, there were so many times where I was just floored by how realistic not only Maya was, but also the entire plot of Love, Hate, and Other Filters. It’s clear how much time, energy, research, and heart that Samira Ahmed put into writing Love, Hate, and Other Filters.

I adored Maya as a main character. She’s spunky, a bit insecure, and knows what she wants but doesn’t want to hurt anyone to get it. I honestly want to be friends with her. Her relationship with her immigrant Indian parents is complex, messy, and again, full of life. Maya is now one of my favorite YA characters, and I was inspired and deeply moved by her and her story. The theme of family is an important one that’s present in Love, Hate, and Other Filters, and it definitely helped to tie the story together.

Samira Ahmed’s storytelling and writing style are awesome. The way she sets up the story and includes a certain perspective ( I don’t want to give it away), added so much depth to the story as a whole. It was humanizing, and I’m so glad she added that perspective.

The romance(s) in this book crushed me, especially the ending. As a whole, Love, Hate, and Other Filters played with my emotions. I was tearing up one moment and swooning another. I honestly have nothing negative to say about Love, Hate, and Other Filters. Everything from the plot, to the characters, to the pacing, to the message, worked and resonated with me as a reader.

I’m so incredibly grateful that I had the opportunity to read the arc of this amazing book. It’s a must-read, and one of my most anticipated 2018 releases. In short, READ IT!!

5/5 stars, and I can’t wait for Love, Hate, and Other Filters to be released in January.

As always,

Happy reading, happy writing, and happy blogging!

-Breeny

5 thoughts on “ARC Review: LOVE, HATE, AND OTHER FILTERS by Samira Ahmed

  1. That was a lovely review!!! I was also able to get an eARC *squeals*, and will be starting it very soon! So far, I have seen nothing but glowing reviews, so I have really high expectations for this book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

