Book Reviews

ARC Review: NYXIA by Scott Reintgen

27426044 Photo Credit: Goodreads

 

Hello, I’m here with another arc review that I’m super excited to share with you all! Nyxia is an awesomely diverse YA sci-fi that I thoroughly enjoyed, and I wanted to share my thoughts about it with you all. It’s a book that I don’t think a lot of people have heard of, so I wanted to put a spotlight on it. Without further ado, here’s the synopsis:

“Emmett Atwater isn’t just leaving Detroit; he’s leaving Earth. Why the Babel Corporation recruited him is a mystery, but the number of zeroes on their contract has him boarding their lightship and hoping to return to Earth with enough money to take care of his family.

Forever.

Before long, Emmett discovers that he is one of ten recruits, all of whom have troubled pasts and are a long way from home. Now each recruit must earn the right to travel down to the planet of Eden—a planet that Babel has kept hidden—where they will mine a substance called Nyxia that has quietly become the most valuable material in the universe.

But Babel’s ship is full of secrets. And Emmett will face the ultimate choice: win the fortune at any cost, or find a way to fight that won’t forever compromise what it means to be human.”

Untitled design

I was able to read an arc of Nyxia in exchange for an honest review, via NetGalley.

THIS BOOK IS SO AWESOME!!!

The plot of Nyxia is fresh and original, and I was drawn in from the very first page. The cast of characters in this novel are all complex, messy, and diverse. Emmet, the main character, is such a smol bean and I want to love and protect him. His character arc in Nyxia is one of my favorites in YA, and I absolutely adore him.His perspective was unique, challenging, and personable. I love awesome PoC rep (and how all of the characters came from different places worldwide!) in YA sci-fi and fantasy, and the fact that Emmett’s black and draws strength from his ancestors’ past was a major bonus.

I felt like I was on the journey with him and the rest of the crew, which shows how awesome Scott Reintgen’s writing is. It also shows how strong the setting is. The setting of the ship was so detailed and vivid, which is definitely awesome. The friendships and the development of platonic relationships in Nyxia are everything. There was a bit of romance, but only at the end. I could tell it was just to set a platform for what’s to come, so I didn’t mind it at all.

There were so many plot twists and things I didn’t see coming that made Nyxia a grasping read. It’s dark but not too dark, and that balance is a key theme in Nyxia. I also liked how socioeconomic status was brought up a lot in Nyxia because that’s something you don’t see addressed a lot in YA.

I WANT MORE!! I can’t wait for the second installment, and to see where the journey continues. If you haven’t checked out Nyxia, I highly highly recommend that you do, and add it to your TBR. And if you’re looking for more YA sci-fi books that have great PoC rep, then I highly recommend then Nyxia is for you. I’m so glad that I got a chance to read the arc of this amazing book.

4.5/5 stars

-Breeny

4 thoughts on “ARC Review: NYXIA by Scott Reintgen

Leave a Reply

