Reading

It’s my Birthday!!

 

Lots of colorful balloons on the blue sky, concept of love in summer and valentine, wedding honeymoon. Vintage effect style pictures. Free Photo

Picture Credit

 

Yesterday was my 17th birthday, so I thought it’d be cool to do one of those ’16 Things I Learned At 16′ posts. Some of these may be cheesy, but I’m the (belated) birthday girl, so just roll with it.

  • It’s never too late to jump in. I’ve wanted to start and run a blog ever since I was 14, but I only began when I was 16. Why? I was scared I was too late. I realize now that that was an unnecessary fear. Whatever you want to do or are trying to do, go for it. It may take a while to get your footing, but you’ll be blazing your own path in no time.
  • Find joy in the little things. It’s easy to get overwhelmed by how busy the world and our everyday lives are, at least it definitely is for me. So whether it’s sharing a smile with someone, finishing your homework ahead of time, smelling a fall-scented candle, reading a few pages of a book, jotting down words for a new idea in class. Whatever it is, try to find the joy in it. A little moment can make an entire day.
  • Don’t let go of your passion. I know in this day and age, it’s easy to feel like what you’re doing or want to do is unimportant. But that’s far from the case. If you have something in your life that makes the world a bit more bearable, that makes your heart, and mind, and soul happy then hold on to that. I can’t overstate how important that is. And you don’t have to have only one passion, the more the merrier. And passion doesn’t have to directly translate into your work or day job. I’m passionate about books, and words, and people, and diversity and equality. I’m not planning on being a full-time author or even working in the publishing industry, but that doesn’t take away from the fact that I’m passionate about books. It doesn’t dim that passion. Find your passion, hold on to your passion, and let it shape you and your life in whatever way you see fit.
  • You can be a work-in-progress and a masterpiece at the same time.
  • Find your balance and take breaks when you need to.
  • It’s alright to take it day by day. I feel like we live in a world where you’re expected to have everything together all the time. I know for me personally, it’s a lot easier to tackle whatever I need to do if I take it day by day.
  • Music can pretty much make everything better.
  • Spend time with people who value your presence. If people want to be in your life, they’ll let you know. Don’t be afraid to distance yourself, partially or completely, from those that bring negative energy into your life.
  • Don’t let go of your morals. Be confident and sound in your inner compass.
  • Be kind. It’s said a lot, but that’s only because it’s important. There’s enough negativity in the world as is.
  • Make the effort to widen your horizons. Read more. Talk to people who come from different backgrounds than you. Learn another language. Travel. Engage.
  • Don’t be afraid to fail or fall. Whether it be one or the other, it’s all a learning process, and without learning, how can you grow?
  • You can impact your future but you can’t control it.
  • Quran 57:4
  • Reading always makes everything better
  • Change is natural and a part of life, but always try to make sure that it’s for the better.

 

I have a few questions that I’d really appreciate if you all would answer:

  • Which books, if any, have I influenced you to add to your TBRs, read, and/or buy?
  • What made you follow my blog, and why do you continue to follow it?
  • Is there anything that you’d like to see more on the blog, or that I could improve upon in the future?

 

As always,

Happy reading, happy writing, and happy blogging!

-Breeny

 

22 thoughts on “It’s my Birthday!!

  1. “Spend time with people who value your presence. If people want to be in your life, they’ll let you know. Don’t be afraid to distance yourself, partially or completely, from those that bring negative energy into your life.”

    This is such a good one, and can be such hard advice to follow… 🙂 Sounds like you’ve learned a lot of important things over the last 16 years. Happy birthday!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. oh, Happy Birthday! These are great things to learn. You are definitely never late to the blog party, I didn’t start book blogging until my mid-twenties (I spent several years blogging about hockey before that) .

    Not sure if you have influenced me to add any books to my TBR…yet! I follow you because you commented on my blog and then I followed along to your blog to comment back. I love finding new blogging friends.

    Deanna Reads Books

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy belated birthday! We’re both the same age now 😀
    I loved your list especially to find joy in the little things and you can be a work in progress and a masterpiece at the same time ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

