Discussions

Thursday’s Thoughts: Striving For Balance

Thursday's Thoughts (4)

 

I’ve mentioned it in a few previous blog posts that I’m starting my junior year of high school this month. That along with moving to a new house further away from school has made me stop and question how I’m going to balance a heavier courseload, standardized testing, living further away, and all my extracurriculars in and out of school. And I realized that I just need to find a balance.

This summer I strongly considered changing my posting schedule to three days a week instead of two. However, I realized that wasn’t going to work for me, and I had to be ok with that. Such a big part of life is learning about prioritizing, and a) school comes first for me and b) I’d rather post two really good posts each week than three mediocre posts a week. Going back to prioritization, I realized that if I want to stay as active and on top of things in the YA community then I need to prep. I like to schedule all my posts ahead of time, usually 3-4 weeks in advance depending on my schedule. It’s one of the biggest stress relievers, and without the scheduling button, I wouldn’t enjoy blogging as much as I do.

This post is a bit rambly, but I just wanted to share that it’s ok if you need to switch things around or minimize or increase doing certain things to find a balance that works for you. Don’t feel pressured to have to do everything. If you need to take a break, take all the time you need. Know that the community has your back. I know the next few months might be a bit tough for me, but I also know that I have wonderful friends and mutuals in this community that I can talk to if I need to. For the next few months, I’m going to strive for balance, and I’m going to keep working to make this blog the best it can be and to keep posting content that I can be proud of.

I feel like this was a bit of a life update, so if any of you have anything that you want to share in the comments, feel free to do so. If you have any goals for the rest of the year, striving for balance is one of mine, feel free to share those as well. I’d love to know how everyone is doing.

As always,

Happy writing, happy reading, and happy blogging!

-Breeny

14 thoughts on “Thursday’s Thoughts: Striving For Balance

  1. I post daily, so that schedule button is truly a life-saver. I try to have my posts done a month in advance and this is the first time I’ve actually done it. (It’s September 7 and all of my September posts are finished! Woo!) So I definitely get what you mean about prioritizing. I also dedicate one day a month solely for blogging, etc.
    Good luck with school and your new home! I think you made the right decision to have two great posts instead of three mediocre. Maybe when things settle in you’ll feel like you can add onto the load, but don’t pressure yourself. 🙂

    Like

  2. Wishing you the best of luck in your junior year of high school! You’re going to have so much fun, trust me! I’m 35 now and I wish I could go back and relive my high school years, so make sure you mindfully enjoy every single minute 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so so much! It’s all going by so fast but so slowly at the same time. But you’re right! I need to make sure I take in each moment, especially during these next two years. Have a wonderful weekend!

      Like

    1. Thank you so much for your comment! I was a bit unsure about posting this at first, and I’m so glad that it resonated with you. I wish you the best of luck as you work on trying to find your balance. Have a wonderful weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What kind of classes are you taking? Do you do any extra curricular activities like band or sports? I hope things settle for you and you find your rhythm again with school. Do you ever think about showing your blog to your English teachers? I bet they would love it and I would love to hear how that goes if you do!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t shown my blog to my English teacher this year, but my math teacher last year knew of it and a lot of my friends know that I blog, and read the posts! I have a fairly difficult schedule this year, and I’m involved in a lot of social diversity work at my school, including an independent research study. I also dance, and blogging and reading are both huge extracurriculars of mine. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh goodness, I WISH I could manage to use the scheduling button! I always end up writing my posts a week in advance and doing the final touch-ups on the very Tuesday it goes live! This of course, never really ends well, but alas, I cannot seem to catch up! XD

    I totally agree with striving to find balance! It’s so easy to get caught up in all the MORE MORE MORE MORE MORE state of mind that we lose sight of how important it is to take breaks and focus on other things as well. XD

    Anyway, I loved this post, and I’m with you on the striving for balance! A goal I have for the year would definitely be figuring out how to use that schedule button!! XD

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I needed to hear this so so much!! I’m starting school and I though about posting 2 times a week because more becomes just too stresfull. School is my top priority but I can’t help feeling a bit guilty for posting so little 😟. I do think it’s the best decision though. Thank you so much ❤!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. As a fellow student, I definitely understand where you’re coming from. School is my top priority as well, and like you said, I think that’s the best decision for me as well. I’m so glad that this post helped. Have an awesome weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

