Discussions

Thursday’s Thoughts: How New Is New?

Thursday's Thoughts (1)

Hello, all! I’m back with another Thursday’s Thoughts, which is my discussion series.

I while ago I had an interaction with a fellow blogger that led me to question how old a book blog has to be in order to be considered new. I took to Twitter to ask: when does a book blog stop being new? I got a wide variety of answers, but only from a few people. Therefore, I wanted to extend the question to my blog and get more thoughts from you all. When does a book blog stop being new?

To me, I always considered anything under a year to be new. There are amazing book blogs that have been up in running for three to four or more years, and I wouldn’t put myself in the same category when my blog was only five months old. Six months was an answer that I got a lot from my friends on Twitter. That answer makes sense as well. You’ve had half a year to get your blog up and running, and you know the ropes.

Ultimately, one of my friends said, you just know. Whenever the time feels right, you’ll know when your blog is no longer new. I don’t think there’s a right, one-size-fits-all answer to this question. I think one year or lower is new, but in the end it makes sense that the time frame will differ from blogger to blogger. Every blogger’s journey is different and set to a different time frame. That’s part of what makes book blogging so unique.

Definitely share your thoughts on my thoughts (haha) and your thoughts on the topic in the comments below. What do you consider to be new? Does how long a blog’s been running matter to you? I look forward to engaging in all of the lovely discussion. As always…

Happy reading, happy writing, and happy blogging!

-Breeny

37 thoughts on “Thursday’s Thoughts: How New Is New?

  1. for me it doesn’t matter! every day i discover new blogs and then they are new to me, even though they may have been out there for a long time. for myself, hmm, i’d say when i hit six months or twelve months, then i won’t be new i guess. that’s a tough question πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Agreed! I think every blogger’s individual timeline is different. Personally, I’ve been blogging for over 5 years and I still feel like a newbie sometimes haha πŸ™‚ Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with the person who said whenever it feels right. A blog may be a year old but posts once a week so they wouldn’t have the experience as a person who has been posting 4 or 5 times a week for a year. There isn’t a one size fits all answer. My blog was technically active for 6 months before I started posting regularly so even at a year old it still felt pretty new to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a really interesting topic. I know a lot of blogs that have been up for under a year but feel like they have been around forever, and then blogs that are years old that still are run like they are new. I guess it really depends on your perspective?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I will start by saying that I love reading your blog posts. They are always so interesting.

    On this specific topic, I’d say that it depends entirely on the individual blog. How often the blogger posts has a lot to do with it. If someone only posts a book review once a month, it will take longer for that blog to become “not new” than one where the blogger posts once a week.

    Ultimately, though, how long a blog has been running doesn’t matter to me as much as the quality of the reviews. If someone has only been posting reviews for a little while, but they do a thorough job, that blog will be far more useful than one where the person has been writing reviews for years, but… the reviews aren’t as detailed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Heather! I’m so glad you enjoy reading my posts! And I definitely agree with your points. There really isn’t one answer because each blogger’s journey is different. The quality of content matters a lot more than the age of a blog to me as well. Thank you so much for commenting and sharing your thoughts!

      Like

    1. That makes definitely makes sense! And just because you’ve reached a certain point doesn’t mean you can’t still learn new things about blogging! I love the duality of your perspective. Thanks so much for commenting and sharing your thoughts, and congrats on almost a year!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I see it similar to being a “newlywed.” I would say if you’ve been doing it for over a year or more you’re no longer new. Not to say that you don’t still discover new aspects of blogging, but you’re definitely not green anymore. But that’s just me…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a cool example! I do agree that once you hit one year, you’re not necessarily new, and that just because you’re an older blog doesn’t mean you can’t discover new things about blogging. Thanks so much for commenting and sharing your thoughts!

      Like

  7. Interesting question…I think I could get on board with saying anything less than 1 year old. I don’t really care how old blogs are when I find them and start reading them. I’m more concerned with the content people are producing. I don’t really go back and read older posts. I just add the blog to Bloglovin’ and start reading the new posts. All that being said, I think when I hit a year with my first blog (Mom’s Radius), I felt like I had made a major milestone. When I started my second blog (Opinionated Book Lover), I didn’t really have that same feeling. I’ll hit my 1 year anniversary there in a couple of weeks, and it’s not at all the same.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for commenting and sharing your thoughts! I do agree that a blog’s age doesn’t really matter to me, as I usually start reading the new content. Congrats on almost reaching your 1 year anniversary on your book blog! That’s interesting, how do you feel that the two moments are different (besides happening to different blogs of course) =) Thanks again for commenting!

      Like

  8. This is a really interesting discussion point – there are lots of bloggers who I would’ve thought have been blogging for ages, but have only been around for a bit longer than me. I guess, in terms of other people’s blogs, the more involved the blogger is, the more ‘experienced’ they seem. I’ve only been blogging for around 10 months, so I still feel very new to the community!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for commenting and sharing your thoughts! I agree that the more you interact, the more “experience” you gain. Time is just one way to measure growth. I’ve only been blogging for five months, so I still feel like a newbie as well. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I’d say any blog that is less than 1 year old can be considered new. However, what about if that same blog takes off and builds a substantial following in just a few months? Can that still be considered new? I don’t know … now you’ve got me confused haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s what I was wondering! =) I think a blog that has taken off in a short amount of time can still be considered new because time and success are two different variables. For some bloggers, the two intersect quicker. I don’t know if that makes sense. I’m glad the post made you think though! That’s always one of my goals with these discussion posts. Thanks for commenting and sharing your thoughts!

      Like

  10. ohhh, I’d say between 6 months to a year. At least for me, I didn’t stop feeling “new” until about a year. I don’t really know why. Maybe because I had officially gone through all major holidays and 365 day period? I don’t know haha. I think even if a blog has wild success in the early months, they would still be considered new. Of course, everyone will feel differently about their own blog but if I were to look at a “new” blog it would usually fall under about a year. ….and now I’m rambling lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! I definitely agree with your points. I’ve been blogging for five months now, but I don’t feel like I’ll truly feel “not new” until I’ve gone through a full year. Thanks again for commenting, and have an awesome day!

      Like

  11. I think anything under a year is a good ball park but I also like the idea that it just depends. I’ve been blogging for nearly six years now but I have no idea when I started to not feel like a “new” blogger!
    Personally, I also don’t mind if someone has been blogging for five years or five minutes, if the content is fresh and the blogger is friendly, I’ll be there!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! It’s super interesting getting to hear from everyone, especially those that have been blogging a lot longer than I have. Congrats on 6 years!! That’s so awesome. And I definitely agree. As long as the content and the blogger are awesome, I’ll be there! Thanks for commenting, and have a great day!

      Like

  12. I love your friends idea that “Whenever the time feels right, you’ll know when your blog is no longer new.” I’m not exactly new anymore but I feel like there are still things for me to learn as a blogger… I also like to keep my blog evolving… if I’m unhappy with a meme or a feature I change them and keep going. ❀ Great little discussion here!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed the discussion! I feel like blogging is overall a learning experience, regardless of how long you’ve been doing it. I really like your point about evolving your blog! Thank you for commenting and sharing your thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Hi Breeny! Interesting discussion topic! I agree with a lot of the other commenters that it depends on how the blogger feels about his or her own blog. I definitely still feel new (I think it’s been 3 months?) because there are still things for me to learn about blogging. Maybe when I feel like I’ve learned everything, then I would be an old blogger πŸ™‚ though I think there is always more to learn!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I consider a blog new when it is new to me as well as anyone who has been blogging for less than 2 years! I enjoy finding new blogs and I think it takes a lot of effort and guts to make a blog and post publicly, and we are constantly learning from blogging, so I would say it would take a good 2 years before I would feel that I wasn’t new any more. 6 months is a good while to have a running blog, but there is still so much to learn and as you learn and discover more blogs, you should begin to discover more about yourself. 6 months would be a good time frame to start adding new content or changing themes to better suit what makes you happy. It took me about that long to nail down my blog theme and discover that my blog is going to be useful for spreading the word about indie authors and lesser known books.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for commenting and sharing your thoughts! I really enjoyed reading your perspective, and I agree that blogging takes both effort and guts, and that we’re all constantly learning. Enjoy the rest of your weekend, and have a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. I’ve been blogging for 2 years now and I sometimes I still feel like a newbie! I don’t really look at how old the blog has been though if it’s new or old, but what matters to me is how active you are on your blog. I don’t really know, I guess that’s just me. πŸ˜‰
    New visitor here btw! I love your “thoughts” posts. It’s something I’ve wanted to have on my blog, just certain discussions but I can’t seem to come up with anything. Maybe someday. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree with your point! I don’t really care how new or old a blog is as long as the blogger’s friendly, the content is awesome, and the blog is active.

      And welcome! Thank you for commenting and introducing yourself. I’m really glad you like the discussion posts. There’s definitely no rush, you can always add discussion posts whenever. They are the hardest to write, but I aim for at least one a month. It helps to relieve the pressure of having to come up with ideas. =)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

