Book Reviews

Book Review: WINDFALL by Jennifer E. Smith

32048554Photo Credit: Goodreads

Hello everyone!! I’m back again with a review of Windfall to carry along with the theme of me reading books that hit me hard in the feels. It’s possible that I teared up because it was almost 3’oclock when I finished reading this book, but who knows. This is what happens when I’m on summer break: I stay up reading books to the break of dawn. Anyways, before I dive into the review, here’s a look at the summary:

Let luck find you.

Alice doesn’t believe in luck—at least, not the good kind. But she does believe in love, and for some time now, she’s been pining for her best friend, Teddy. On his eighteenth birthday—just when it seems they might be on the brink of something—she buys him a lottery ticket on a lark. To their astonishment, he wins $140 million, and in an instant, everything changes.

At first, it seems like a dream come true, especially since the two of them are no strangers to misfortune. As a kid, Alice won the worst kind of lottery possible when her parents died just over a year apart from each other. And Teddy’s father abandoned his family not long after that, leaving them to grapple with his gambling debts. Through it all, Teddy and Alice have leaned on each other. But now, as they negotiate the ripple effects of Teddy’s newfound wealth, a gulf opens between them. And soon, the money starts to feel like more of a curse than a windfall.

As they try to find their way back to each other, Alice learns more about herself than she ever could have imagined…and about the unexpected ways in which luck and love sometimes intersect.”

Untitled design

The main thing that sold Windfall for me and tugged on my heartstrings were the various relationships in the book. I loved Alice’s relationship with Leo, her aunt and uncle, Teddy, and most importantly herself. All the relationships had depth and growth, and they made me fall in love with the individual characters.

I didn’t instantly connect with Alice at the beginning, but by the end of Windfall I was rooting for her. I loved how she learned to live for herself while still valuing her past, and her character development and growth was awesome to read. Teddy as a love interest was overall quite enjoyable, and I really liked that both he and Alice had to grow on their own before they could grow with each other. It’s 100% realistic that sometimes you have to work on yourself before you can work with others and be in a relationship, and I don’t always see that in many YA contemporaries.

The one thing that kind of threw me off was that there weren’t any character descriptions. (And to be fair I started this book at 11 and finished at 3 in the morning, so it’s possible that I missed them.) But I had a really hard time visualizing the characters, which I didn’t realize until after finishing reading Windfall. Therefore it’s hard to talk about all the different subtopics within diversity. Leo, Alice’s cousin, is gay and he and his boyfriend, Max, are honestly goals. Their relationship was one of my favorites. At the beginning of reading Windfall I felt that Leo was tokenized a bit, but his character and his various relationships with different characters were so well developed that I didn’t feel that way by the end of the book.

The premise of Windfall was super interesting. Both of my parents play the lottery, and I can’t ever imagine either of them winning to the extent that Teddy does. I liked how socioeconomic status was addressed, as well as grief and loss. The topics added a lot to the characters and added a level of “realness” that I think was helpful to ground the story.

I really liked the cover as well, so that was a plus. Overall, if you’re looking for a book that has great character relationships that will suck you in and make you 100% invested then Windfall is for you.

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

If you’re looking for a light-hearted book that’s full of characters relationships that suck you in until the last page, then you should definitely add Windfall to your TBR!

Happy reading, happy writing, and happy blogging!

-Breeny

6 thoughts on “Book Review: WINDFALL by Jennifer E. Smith

  1. I completely agree! This is such an awesome book and I’m so glad you enjoyed it as much as I did. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

