Book Reviews

Book Review: I BELIEVE IN A THING CALLED LOVE by Maurene Goo

31145133Photo Credit: Goodreads

It feels like it’s been a while since I’ve written a book review since I finished reading I Believe In A Thing Called Love before I went on a family vacation. I meant to draft a review before I left, but summer procrastination has fully kicked in so I’m writing it the day that I’ve gotten back from vacay. Before I get to the review, here’s a look at the synopsis:

“Desi Lee believes anything is possible if you have a plan. That’s how she became student body president. Varsity soccer star. And it’s how she’ll get into Stanford. But—she’s never had a boyfriend. In fact, she’s a disaster in romance, a clumsy, stammering humiliation magnet whose botched attempts at flirting have become legendary with her friends. So when the hottest human specimen to have ever lived walks into her life one day, Desi decides to tackle her flirting failures with the same zest she’s applied to everything else in her life. She finds guidance in the Korean dramas her father has been obsessively watching for years—where the hapless heroine always seems to end up in the arms of her true love by episode ten. It’s a simple formula, and Desi is a quick study. Armed with her “K Drama Steps to True Love,” Desi goes after the moody, elusive artist Luca Drakos—and boat rescues, love triangles, and staged car crashes ensue. But when the fun and games turn to true feels, Desi finds out that real love is about way more than just drama.”

Untitled design

What intrigued me and made me pick up a copy of I Believe In A Thing Called Love was the concept. I loved the idea of an ownvoices book that featured K Dramas, and I thought that it was unique and creative. I loved Desi as a protagonist, though I didn’t fully understand or like all of her actions. There were a few moments in the book that I found to be a bit unrealistic, but overall I greatly enjoyed the plot. I really like that Desi is smart, popular, and an achiever, but that she isn’t mean. I felt that she went against the “popular mean girl” trope in a very refreshing way.

I enjoyed the relationship between Desi and Appa, her father. Their relationship is definitely one of my favorite YA contemporary father (figure)-daughter relationships. I also liked Desi’s friends, and while they didn’t appear in much of the story I loved how big their personalities were. I liked Luca, the love interest, and his arsty-ness as a whole, though I thought him to be a bit shallow and I don’t feel like he grew as much as Desi did throughout the story. Overall, I enjoyed the relationship between Desi and Luca, though I felt that it was a bit insta-lovey at the beginning at the beginning.

I really enjoyed the diversity and representation within I Believe In A Thing Called Love. I like that it features a strong-willed and smart Korean main character, ties in Korean culture, and is an ownvoices book. I’d overall recommend I Believe In A Thing Called Love to any reader who’s looking for a light YA rom-com that has awesome representation.

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

If you’re into K Dramas or just looking for an awesome YA rom-com to read this summer, then definitely check out I Believe In A Thing Called Love!

Happy reading, happy writing, and happy blogging!

-Breeny

18 thoughts on “Book Review: I BELIEVE IN A THING CALLED LOVE by Maurene Goo

  1. Thanks for this honest review 🙂
    I’ve been hearing overall good things about this book and wondering whether I should read it myself. It’s good to know some of the things you don’t like about this one as well. Maybe I will pick this up when I am looking for a light read 🙂

    Sophie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m actually not a K Drama viewer, but I know they’re SUPER popular right now. Nonetheless, this book sounds so cute and fun that I *had* to buy a copy. So… yeah. Hopefully I’ll read it soon! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

