Writing

Writing Update #2: Off to Camp…

 

Writing Update #2Photo Credit

So it’s July, and with July always comes Camp Nanowrimo!! If you don’t know, Camp Nanowrimo is basically a more chill version of Nanowrimo where you get to choose your own goal (minutes, words, pages, etc). It’s a summer tradition for me to participate in July; this is my fourth year doing so. If you remember from my last writing update, I’m working on ‘Summer Novel’. I’ve come up with a 50-word synopsis that took me about two days to nail down:

“Zinnia Thomas’ summer is dedicated to getting scouted for a volleyball scholarship, but her sister, Camellia, has different plans: an open road summer full of sisterly bonding. Life’s plans send Zi’s summer for a nosedive, but she might find out that an open road just needs an open heart.”

Let me know what you all think of the synopsis, and if anyone has any ideas for titles definitely leave them in the comments.

Right now, these are the titles that I have to work with that I’ve gotten from friends:

  • Travels to Nowhere is the Best Definition
    • I like the concept, but it seems really wordy and kind of confusing
  • The Road We Took Together
    • Sounds a bit boring
  • Summer Plans Flutter Out The Car Window
    • I like this one the most, but it sounds like it’d be the title of a song by The 1975.
  • Summer Destination: Nowhere
    • Doesn’t work because they’re actually going somewhere…
  • Road Trip Summer
    • Sounds a bit boring

You all, I’ve never had trouble with coming up with titles before. *panics* I’m hoping that once I start writing something will spark an idea for a title.

Here’s what I call my story aesthetic, which was made my one of my friends on Nanowrimo’s forums:

10F1AADE-D62F-472D-BC17-2E31B3CA53EC

I’m kinda obsessed with it. I thought it’d be cool to share some of the songs off of my playlist dedicated to this WIP, so that you all can get the vibe for the novel.

  • Unsteady by X Ambassadors
  • Renegades by X Ambassadors
  • Let’s go by Khalid
  • What We Live For by American Authors
  • Roam by Theia
  • Childhood Dreams by ARY
  • Heart Out by The 1975
  • Good Life by One Republic
  • Perfect Places by Lorde
  • Drive by Oh Wonder

Now usually I consider myself to be a plotter, but I’m doing a weird method of outlining this time around. Before Camp started I completed character profiles for Zi, Cam, and a few other characters. I also mapped out their trip by listing the attractions that I wanted them to visit. I’m planning on looking up food stops and motels and whatnot as I write. For this project, I outline each chapter after I finish writing the one that came before it. For example, after I finish writing chapter 3 then I’ll outline chapter 4. I like having the flexibility, and it seems true to the road-trip aspect of the book since the characters don’t really plan the road-trip beforehand. (They don’t use google maps on the road-trip, they use actual maps and a sharpie.) Also, I always write all of my first drafts BY HAND. My brain is weird, ok.

If you’re participating in Camp Nanowrimo, definitely update me in the comments. I’d love to hear how it’s going for everyone! I part with a motivational quotation:

“If there is a book you really want to read but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” -Toni Morrison (one of my writing idols)

giphy-downsized (2).gif Happy writing, happy reading, and happy blogging!

-Breeny

26 thoughts on “Writing Update #2: Off to Camp…

  1. I think your novel sounds great! As for the title, I have to agree with you on what you suggested… However, sometimes I find it easier to write the story and then you can stem the title off of a major plot point.
    Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You too!
        Lol, I already skipped day 2… I wasn’t home at all. So I’m behind already. But I’m planning on writing double today so it should be fine. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like it would be a good read! The only thing I’d say is to work on the titles a bit more because the examples you gave seem kinda elementary or just don’t flow so well. Keep us posted :0

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Honestly speaking, I think the title should be something that really calls to YOU, the author. So if you can’t decide a title now, don’t panic, just keep writing and maybe you’ll find out what this book should be called at one point of the story

    Lovely blog btw! So neat and aesthetic. I am doing Camp NanoWriMo too but I am just a teeny bit behind on schedule :p

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the advice, I really needed it. Right now I’m still making do with ‘Summer Novel’.

      There’s still (basically) a whole month left so don’t stress! Progress is progress no matter how small. Definitely keep me updated on how it goes.

      And I’m glad you like my blog aesthetic. =)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s what I try to tell myself but everytime I see someone getting close to their goal or exceeding it I feel so disappointed in myself. I’m not a competitive person, but I have anxiety and things like these make me feel like I am not enough, that I am not doing enough and that drives me into panic 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m so sorry to hear that. *hugs* I’m not sure if my advice will help, but maybe you could try to break down your overall goal into chunks so it doesn’t seem that overwhelming. And, I know it’s soo easier said that than done, but try not to compare yourself as best as possible. You’re unique and so is your story and your path towards completing it. I hope I helped a bit. I’m here if you want to chat!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Awesome post, Breeny, and good luck! Some title ideas that definitely suck:
    The Great Wide Nowhere
    Somewhere Along the Route/Way/Road
    All Mapped Out
    The Heart of the Map
    Every Road has a Map
    Points on a Map
    If These Maps Could Talk
    I’m the Map, I’m the Map
    As you can see, I have run out of ideas, but hopefully they gave you inspiration??? Probably not.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I wouldn’t worry too much about the title right now. I would imagine that most writer’s name their books LAST (though I admit I don’t know much about it) as they have the story completely fleshed out. I’m sure something you love will jump out at you as you’re writing. Keep on plugging away!

    Also, love the synopsis!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Best of luck with Camp NaNo! Titling is hard, sorry I can’t help you there, but I’m sure you’re having lots of success in actually writing the book, which is the important part (even if I’m quite late in commenting here…I was busy writing, didn’t have time to keep up my blog reading, lol).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

