Discussions

Thursday’s Thoughts: Memes

Thursday's ThoughtsPicture Credit

Hey everyone! One of my blogging goals for this summer is to try and do a discussion post every month. This is my first discussion so I 100% welcome any feedback. What do you all think of the title ‘Thursday’s Thoughts’ for the series? I didn’t want it to just sound like I’m only sharing my thoughts because the whole point of these posts is for you all to share yours.

The topic for today’s discussion is memes. I follow a ton of wonderful bloggers who participate in them and produce awesome content using them. For me, I’m not sure if memes work. Because I post on Mondays and Thursdays, the only weekly meme that comes to mind that I’d participate in would be “Thursday Throwback(s)”. And then would it be weird if I only participated in one meme a week? I feel like it would be.

Is it necessary to participate in memes? What’s the value? For those that post daily, I can see how memes could help in terms of creating posts. They also seem fun to do, and also help you connect with other bloggers. I’m curious to learn more about the value of using memes.

Do any of you all use memes? If you do use memes, how has using them shaped your blog and its content? If you don’t use them, why so? I’m looking forward to the lovely discussion in the comments below.

Before I signoff, I have some exciting news to share!! This Sunday, June 25th, my guest post onย Lia’sย blog will be up. You all should definitely check out her blog, and keep an eye out for my post. It’ll be my first time guest posting so I’m excited to hear what you all think!

Happy writing, happy reading, and happy blogging!

-Breeny

38 thoughts on “Thursday’s Thoughts: Memes

  1. Hey!

    I’m not sure how I feel about bookish memes yet but I’m a fairly new blogger. I’ve started doing the Top Ten Tuesday [Broke and Bookish] and the Beautiful People Writing Meme [Paperfury].

    For me, they can be super quick posts to write in a jam, but I can’t always respond to the prompts. I’m also wary of doing it too often because I don’t want memes to be my only content. I guess, I feel like if everyone is doing it, it’s not really “original” and doesn’t make you stand out. But then, on the other hand, they can be great for the link ups – to find other bloggers with similar tastes/ideas to you and for other bloggers to find you. I’ve populated my feedly following blogs that also did TTT or Beautiful People.

    Hope it’s okay that I shared this post to twitter as it’s an interesting topic for discussion. x

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks so much for sharing it on Twitter. And I definitely agree with you and your points! =) Thanks for commenting. I just love getting to read everyone’s responses and get different takes on memes.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anything that helps someone write is worth doing. I find prompts and memes and similar methods of inspiration are helpful because constraints breed creativity, and community doesn’t hurt with motivation, either.

    Like

  3. Hi there! I love your blog. I saw your post in the Camp Nano forum. I am a new blogger, so I haven’t started with the memes and prompts yet. But I think anything that keeps you coming back and adding content has got to be positive for you blog. After all, activity and networking seem to be the key in online success. Best of luck to you, both in Camp and with your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for reaching out and commenting! I greatly appreciate it. Good luck with Camp and blogging to you as well. Don’t hesitate to reach out if you have any questions, it’s awesome to meet another newbie blogger.

      Like

  4. I don’t know if they’re really necessary, but I’m a part of The Broke and The Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesday and Paper Fury and Further Up and Further In’s Beautiful People. I think they are worth trying just because they are fun to do, but I think they help me become a better writer/blogger and think more critically about the books I read? Plus I’ve noticed since I’m a new blog, it really helps drive in more traffic and comments if you need help with that because you put your link in the meme’s list on the host blog, which helps especially if it is an older and bigger blog, so other people who regularly read that blog as well as others participating in the meme can come see your version of the post and start discussions, which is nice. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I’d definitely be up for reading more discussion posts! I don’t participate in memes regularly, but I think they can be fun for helping others find your content, or if I’m struggling to find something to write about. They also mean that the people who read them know what to expect when they read my post, so they can easily pick which content they want! But as some other comments said, I try not to not to do too many at once so I also have other kinds of post going out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for commenting and sharing your thoughts! And yay, I’m really glad to hear that you’d be up for reading more discussion posts. They’re really fun to write. I feel the same way about tags, they’re awesome to mix in with other posts but I wouldn’t want them to be the meat of my blog. If that makes sense. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  6. A really thoughtful first discussion! Memes are great when you first start out because they give you a topic to talk about and many times readers to come and look at your post. The great thing about memes though is that they are just ideas of common things. You can easily adopt a topic you like and make your own list on the day you want to post. You can spin the topic anyway you want or keep the idea in the back of your head as you read and search out those kinds of books that you love. There are no straight up rules about memes. The topics are not copyrighted and many are duplicated across memes. You will see many times Top 10 Tuesday and Top 5 Wednesday have similar ideas except one needs 10 and the other only needs 5. I did a lot of memes at first because I wanted something to write about that day and not think about WHAT to write. Now that I’m in practice writing something every night I’m pulling back on the memes and doing other kinds of posts.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed the discussion. I definitely agree with your points, and I feel like the same applies to blog tags as well. Thanks so so much for sharing. I love getting to read different opinions centered on the same topic. Have an awesome day!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. We don’t use memes, because it would overcrowd our blog, as we have so many reviews to write. I do think it’s a great idea to use them though, especially when you don’t share your blog space or don’t have daily reviews. It isn’t always easy to come up with new ideas for posts, plus it’s nice for readers to get to know you and find out how you feel about certain topics. They’re usually fun to read as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I participate in Top Ten Tuesday (and occasionally Waiting on Wednesday) because it’s fun (and I like knowing I have one post for one day every week). That said, no they’re not necessary. It’s just what every blogger decides/prefers. For me, it’s a fabulous way to meet new bloggers, and I’ve discovered blogs/book blogging friends through them that I might not have otherwise.

    In the end, every blogger has to decide because their blog is their space, and it should be what they enjoy doing/sharing/posting about. (I use Top Ten Tuesday as a way to add content to my Booktube channel too.)

    Love that you’re starting a discussion series! That’s always an intention of mine (to write more discussion posts), but since I want to give those more planning and thought, I never get myself organized enough to write them. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I definitely agree with you that every blogger has to find what works for them, and that memes can be one of those elements. I love getting to read everyone’s thoughts. And thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed my first discussion post! Have a wonderful day.

      Like

  9. Great post! I love your idea of a monthly discussion ๐Ÿ™‚ And I think this is a great first topic! I don’t think memes are necessary by any means, but I think they can be a useful tool to practice blogging and writing. Sometimes I get intimidated by the blank page when I’m trying to write a review or a discussion. I find it easier to start writing with a prompt, and so I’ll use the memes almost as a warm-up writing exercise. Then once I’m in the flow of writing, I can go on to tackle the meatier reviews or discussions. I’m still fairly new to book blogging and I’m a pretty slow reader compared to most bloggers, so I also find memes an easy way to keep up my blog when I don’t have any new reviews to share.

    I currently participate in Top Ten Tuesday and Stacking the Shelves. Are there any ones in particular you’re thinking of trying?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed the first discussion! And I definitely agree with you that memes are an awesome starting point. Because I only post twice a week (student-alert), I usually post one review a week and then something else. I feel like I don’t really have time/space to utilize memes, but I wasn’t sure if that was 100% negative or positive. So I made a discussion post, and everyone’s thoughts and comments have been awesome.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I’m not really sure how I feel about memes anymore! I used to do Top Ten Tuesday and Top 5 Wednesday every week but after a while I grew bored of reading the same posts over and over again! I still participate in one of those memes every once in a while if I happen to like a week’s topic but I don’t do it as frequently as I used to!
    Wonderful post and great first discussion! ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Hey Breeny!

    I feel weird calling myself this, but compared to you and many other bloggers commenting here, I’m a “veteran” blogger (6 years!). My advice is to do the specialty posts that feel right to you. I created a few of my own over the years and I’ve done some like Top Ten Tuesday that others created. It just depends on your interests and the time you have. I’ve had really great responses to the ones I make myself because they’re different from all the other copied posts, but I also get a lot of readers who like things like Top Ten Tuesday because they can compare my book choices to those of their other favorite bloggers. So it really just depends on what you feel like doing.

    You’re off to a great start with this blog! Best of luck and keep reading!
    Holly

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for commenting and sharing your thoughts Julianna!! As of now, I’m on the same page as you. I don’t use memes, and prefer to write and post discussions and reviews. That could always change in the future. Have an awesome day!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. If appreciate we feedback: I want to do “meme mondays.” Would it be weird to only post a meme or should I try writing something about the meme? I kind of want Mondays to be light and easy since Mondays typically suck

    Like

    1. It’s up to you! Blogging is all about experimenting, and finding what works best for your blog. I’d think giving some background to the meme that you want to participate in is a solid idea.

      Like

Leave a Reply

