Tags

Book Blog Newbie Tag

For today’s post, I’ve decided to tag myself. *whispers “Is that weird?”* I’ve seen this tag done as far back as 2015 so I’m unsure who to give credit to, but I can say that whoever came up with these questions is awesome. I thought it might be cool for you all to get to know me a bit better since I’m relatively new to the community, so without further ado, let’s get into it.

  • Why did you start this blog?

200w_d  (If anyone recognizes the show that this gif is from, let me know in the comments and we can automatically be best friends) 

I started blogging as a way to share my love of books with others. I wanted to join and explore a community that’s as passionate about books and words as I am. Blogging is a great stress-reliever for me, and it’s something that brings me joy. I’m really lucky and grateful to be part of such a wonderful community.

  • What are some fun and unique things that you can bring to book blogging?

I think that because I’m a teen blogger, I can offer a unique perspective on YA books. I have many intersections and am a  firm supportive of diversity and inclusion within books and the book blogging community. I feel like we all bring passion to the table. And I’m a bit awkward, and I like to sprinkle in gifs and asterisks for added pizzaz.

  • What are you most excited for about this new blog?

I’m most excited to meet and interact with new people and fangirl with them about books. Book blogging is something that I’ve wanted to do for a while now, and I’m really excited that I’ve finally started.

  • Why do you love reading?

200w_d (1) (Guys, I’m giving away a major hint!!)

Because reading basically makes me feel the way that Rachel feels in the gif. It simply makes me happy. It’s comforting, and it’s a large part of who I am as a person.

  • What book or series got you into reading?

The Angelina Ballerina Series is what got me into reading. After I finished reading them, I started writing Angelina Ballerina fanfiction at the age of 5 and then I started writing original works.

  • What questions would you ask your favorite authors?

How are you so amazing? How do you write so amazingly? But in all seriousness, I’d probably ask them how they get inspiration and ask them questions about their writing and editing processes.

  • What challenges do you think starting a blog will be the hardest to overcome?

School stress. I started blogging before finals so I have some experience under my belt, but next year is going to be a whirlwind in terms of stress. But if I continue to keep the schedule button as my best friend, I think I’ll be able to handle it.

  • When did you start reading?

I started reading when I was very very little, and the Angelina Ballerina Series is the first series that I recall.

  • Where do you read?

giphy-downsizedHmmm….

Everywhere. In my room. In the car. In class. *shhhh* I don’t need a set space to read, nor do I have favorite spot to read. Most of the times I’ll get so lost in the book’s setting that my setting doesn’t matter.

  • What kinds of books do you like to read?

I like to read YA contemporary, fantasy, and sci-fi. I also enjoy reading poetry. One of my favorite summer reads is Alex, Approximately (look out for the review next week!). It’s swoon-worthy, light, and made me feel the way that Rachel feels in the gif.

I hope this post helped you all get to know me better. If you have any other questions, feel free to leave them in the comments!

Happy reading, happy writing, and happy blogging!

 

50 thoughts on “Book Blog Newbie Tag

  1. I’m a newbie too! (well actually I started almost ten months ago, but I didn’t officially start try hard until now XD ). When I really started to love reading was when I read the Percy Jackson series, before that I never really connected with any books, but now there’s never a time when I’m not connected to books.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s always nice to meet another newbie book blogger!! How’s the blogosphere been treating you so far in your journey? And I totally agree with you! I’m always connected to books. This is a pretty unpopular, but I always liked The Kane Chronicles more than the Percy Jackson series. Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. *whispers back* It’s totally not weird to tag yourself! Whenever I have done a tag (which isn’t very often now that I think about it), I always say whoever wants to do the tag should because WHY NOT LIFE IS SHORT.
    My reading experience is quite similar to yours in that I read everywhere and anywhere. Except in bed. I hate reading in bed because I usually end up getting attacked by the book, and hardbacks are HEAVY AND POINTY. I will read in bed if I’m reading an e-book though. Still, I prefer reading anywhere but in my bed because I am apparently strange 😛
    The schedule button is absolutely your friend! Don’t burn yourself out though. When the inspiration to write a bazillion blog posts hits, you should do that and then work that flipping schedule button like it’s your job. It’s always a good idea to have a couple posts on hand to supplement your blog when you’re just not feeling it or when you oversleep and have to go to work and have no time to a write a post (*cough* TOTALLY ME TODAY.)
    I very much so enjoyed your newbie blogger post, and am looking forward to the Alex, Appoximately review! Keep at it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awh, thanks so much! I’m glad you enjoyed the post. Thank you for all the tips!! I think right now scheduling my posts prevents burnout, and I’m crossing my fingers that it stays that way. I prefer not to read in bed either, or just not laying down. I’d rather read in a comfy chair so I’m sitting up. That’s probably a bit weird. =) Thanks so much for your lovely comment!!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s definitely up to you! You don’t have to use gifs if you don’t want to. I feel like I can show my personality a bit when using them. I’m glad you enjoyed the post! I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

      Like

  3. Welcome to the blogging world, Breenie! I am absolutely happy that we have another teen blogger! I know there aren’t a lot out there. I started blogging when I was fourteen (yeaaars ago) and I know it is very terrifying. The trick is to have fun and try not to stress yourself out. I have been blogging for almost 10 years now but there have been months where I wasn’t blogging at all.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your blog is absolutely lovely! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I also started my blog in high school and it was sometimes difficult with tests and other school related stuff but being organized is definitely key. If you have a routine to do certain things (like scheduling posts, commenting on other blogs, social media, etc.), it helps tremendously. I loved this tag; it was great getting to know a little bit more about you! Happy reading!

    http://www.thebucketlistbookblog.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for commenting, and I’m glad you enjoyed the tag! I’m developing a routine currently so that it’ll hopefully carry into the school year. I’m so glad you like my blog. Have a wonderful day!

      Like

  5. I’ve tagged myself on occasion because there are some tags that just cannot wait for someone to tag you, you must take matters into your own hands. I just finished Alex, Approximately not too long ago myself and thought it was a great book for the summer. I’ll actually be posting my review tomorrow and I’d love to hear your thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Awesome tag, it’s so nice being able to get to know you more all in one go! Welcome to the book community, I can tell how passionate you are just from this post. It’s sooo cool that you got into fanfiction writing at the age of five. I don’t even remember what I was doing at that age but it was definitely not writing. 🙂 🙂 Hope you see you around!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great post. I like your answers. I don’t read YA a lot though its a genre that I like. I look forward to discovering some interesting reads through your blog. Welcome to book blogging 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay, I’m glad you liked the post!! I don’t know when I’ll stop feeling like a newbie, but I’ve only been blogging for four months so I guess I don’t have to worry about that for a bit. =)

      Like

  8. Why haven’t I done this tag before? 😂 It’s great that you had experience blogging during school because I started blogging in the middle of my summer. I’m barely one month into school and I almost can’t keep up!

    Alex, Approximately is also one of my faves as well! I can’t even remember the last time I felt really happy while reading a book. It just gave the perfect light summer vibe that made me smile throughout the reading experience.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Doooo it! Starting my blog towards the end of the school year but not have been my best idea, but I can share with you my #1 tip that helped me get through finals while blogging. Schedule your posts! It helps me out a lot.

      And yes to everything about Alex, Approximately. It just made me so happy and warm and fuzzy. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  9. GIRL YOU USED THE BACHELORETTE GIFS OMG! YOU WATCH? It’s so nice to see someone else who watches/keeps up with the show and I love all your answers! Having just graduated from high school, I totally get balancing school stress and reading (though, I actually do a terrible job of balancing the two haha). I loved this post ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I DID!!! It’s nice to meet another Bachelorette fan. What do you think of the season so far?? And congrats on graduating! *throws confetti* I’m still working on balancing stress and reading as well, so I’m in the same boat. I’m so glad you liked this post. =)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m actually really enjoying this season so far! It’s had its fair share of drama, but it hasn’t been over the top. And Rachel’s been handling it very maturely. The guys she’s coming down to are really likeable dudes and I’d be happy with anyone she ends up with, haha. Just as long as she’s happy! What are your thoughts so far? And thank you! I’m glad to be out of high school buuuuut now there’s college ewww lol. I guess balancing that stuff just takes practice? You know?

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Yay someone else who loves the Bachelorette! I was so excited when I saw those gifs. Your post was also great, I’ll have to try that tag since I also just started

    Liked by 1 person

  11. This is such a great tag! I 100% share your stress about balancing school with blogging, and I just started this summer so we’ll see how I hold up during this next semester.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

