Writing

Why Do I Write?

Why do I write?

It’s a question that I ask myself over and over again, particularly when I begin brainstorming, plotting, or drafting a new idea. It’s a simple yet loaded question, and the multitude of answers never cease to amaze me.

I began writing at the age of five. I had finished reading all of the Angelina Ballerina books at my local library and was upset that there weren’t anymore. So I decided to write my own. At first, I simply copied down the books on lined paper, practicing my cursive. Gradually, I began to make my own plots featuring Angelina and her best friend Alice. I was writing fanfiction at five years old, and I didn’t even know it. The Angelina Ballerina books not only made me fall in love with writing, but they also made me fall in love with dance.

I’ve continued  to write ever since then. In first grade I wrote an original eleven page story, inspired by my friend who had a cousin visiting her at school for a few days. I designed a cover and everything. My mom printed the book, making multiple copies, and together we bound the books with curly ribbon and sold them to family and friends for $5 dollars each.

I was so proud of myself, proud at the very fact that I’d created something that had never been created before, and it’s that spark that continues to drive me. Today, I write for slightly more serious reasons. As a black Muslim girl, there are very few stories written by people like me or about people like me. I take it upon myself to help fill that void. I know when I was reading Angelina Ballerina, Alice, the brown mouse, was the sidekick. But brown and black girls (and all PoC!) don’t deserve to be sidekicks. They’re complex, diverse, and beautiful and I try to portray all of those qualities in my work.

I write to release stress, express myself, and be creative. Writing taps into another part of my mind, that I don’t always engage during school. However, being a writer does help make school more interesting, as I’m always looking for bits of dialogue or slivers of ideas.

I write to inspire, and I read to be inspired. I always write for myself first, but one day I hope that my words and my novels inspire even just one person. I want people to see themselves reflected in all of their glory, because I know I didn’t always see that growing up. I write because I believe that’s one of the gifts that I’ve been blessed with, and I should use that blessing to impact people in whatever way I can. And ultimately I write to make myself happy, because writing truly is a big source of joy in my life.

I hope you all enjoyed this post, and I’d love to know why you all write (or read!) in the comment section below!

Happy writing, happy reading, and happy blogging.

41 thoughts on “Why Do I Write?

  1. What a great story. I started writing when I was ten because my sister started and I wanted to copy her, lol. It’s amazing how far we’ve come, huh?

    Like

  2. This was a wonderful post, and almost introductory since it was the first one I read here. 🙂

    I wrote when I was younger too, short stories and whatnot. I’ve always wanted to be an author and occasionally dabble in writing a novel. (I even got about 70 pages into one, but then petered out.) Mostly I started writing Birdie to broaden my love of book discussions beyond Goodreads. I love to talk about and dissect stories with other book lovers.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post, Breeny. I think it’s wonderful that you sold copies of your book when you were so young! A cover and everything! You are a true creative 🙂 I hope you continue your writing!

    I enjoy writing, as well. Sometimes I just have a story rattling around in my head that I just have to get down on paper 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Right now I’m in a similar situation. I have a story idea rattling around in my head but right now I need to focus on getting through finals, so I’ll have to wait until I can get it all down on paper. I hope your writing is going well!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks, Breeny 🙂 My writing is slow but steady 😉 If you’re anything like me, you might want to put that rattling around story in bullet point so you don’t forget your ideas. This happens to me a lot, (I have a brain like a sieve), I get a great story all worked out and forget half of it before I even get it down on paper.

        Anyway, Good LUCK on your finals!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post! I started writing at 13 – though that was fan-fiction, and begun writing original works at around 16 – so it’s only been 7 years for me, but every moment has been amazing, and I couldn’t imagine myself doing anything else!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My sister adored Angelina Ballerina!

    I write for many of the same reason you do – to relieve stress, to be creative. I think I ultimately write though to share my stories with the world. I think about all the stories I wish I could read but don’t exist, so I decided I might as well write them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Those are wonderful reasons for writing! I think diversity is so important because it is not only really interesting to read about but also gives (young) people representation. Being represented in a book can have such a big influence on a person! It let’s us know we’re not weird, even though we might be different from the regular cis-straight-white person who seems to have the main part in many books. I write simply because I love it but also because I think some stories should be heard.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree! I’m hoping to do more writing this summer, but it’s hard to do with school. I’ve had to learn to not put to much pressure on myself to write during times where school has to be the priority.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Congratulations to you and your mum (for encouraging and supporting you.) I think most writers, like you, write for themselves first and then as courage takes hold we let others know of our writing. I enjoyed your post and look forward to following you.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks for sharing with us; that’s a great story! Hmmm, tips for blogging? Well, for a new blog, you’ve got a pretty good amount of traffic, so nice job!. If you’re trying to upgrade the design of your blog, use the website Canva; it’s totally free graphic design website that I used to make almost everything on my blog (my header, titles, etc). There’s a great website, that does really helpful how-to’s! It’s https://bloggermemopad.wordpress.com/ And one that will actually to custom designs for you, for free (really) and it’s a very nice girl who runs it!
    https://livalittleblog.com/

    There’s honestly so many blogging tactics I’ve learnt, but it would take me a while to tell you them all! The important thing is to mostly just get around the blogosphere a lot, and if you can, try to visit a lot of smaller blogs, (of all people I know what it’s like to have a lonely blog, and get one comment that makes my day. Trust me, my blog used to be trash 😂).
    But my all-time FAVORITE blogger would have to be
    May @https://foreverandeverly.wordpress.com/
    Her blog is gorgeous, she posts great content, and she’s super friendly and hilarious. Her blog should honestly go viral. Okay that was a lot of info I gave you, and probably too much (haha sorry). Anyways good luck blogging! **thinking about how over the top I am**

    Liked by 2 people

  9. This is such an interesting post! I used to watch the Angelina Ballerina series instead of watching them lol. And wow, that sounds so cool to have a book when you were younger!
    I love your reasons for writing! Personally, I write because I enjoy writing and because it’s an outlet 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Wow! I love this post. It inspires me as a mother because of my daughter was to write a book at five, I hope I think to type it up and bind it! What a powerful influence your mother had on that one act. It probably kept you writing knowing that people took you seriously! My only memories of me writing were in junior high when I did a spin off of Captain Underpants (mature right?). I had so much fun writing those stories, but I’ve never really written since then. I consider myself good at research writing, so maybe I should try historical fiction or a nonfiction piece. Writing has always intrigued me, but I’ve never been motivated to try. Here I am, an English teacher, who makes her students write daily, and I don’t even write! I have made it goal though, and reading your post really inspires me! Thank you for posting and happy blogging and writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Your story is such an amazing one! I love that you made a story and sold it to your friends and family! That is amazing! I hope you eventually feel comfortable enough to put your writing for others to see! 🙂

    Also, I was thinking about making a post like this too! I love your post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I’m glad you liked the post! You should definitely make a post like this, stories about writing are always lovely to share and read. I share my writing with a few close friends, and I’ll post lines from my WIP on Twitter sometimes. Who knows some lines may even appear on my blog soon. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  12. I started writing when I was about 8. I actually created my own book just like you but I get nervous to have others read my work so only my immediate family ever read it. It was a bound book and I did all the illustrations myself. Although, they were mainly stick people but I was still really proud and still have it to this day! I love your reasons for writing, too! My goal is to one day not be so afraid to let others read my work so it can inspire others and that’s why I had created my blog, to help me get use to people reading my words!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s such an awesome story, I’m glad that you held on to the book. Your blog is great, and it’s awesome that you’re putting your words out into the world. I wish you the best of luck with your goals.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Your blog is Beautiful! And I love that you were writing fanfiction at 5! XD I was writing storyboards at 2 when I didn’t know what they were! 😀
    I totally get writing to express creativity and to inspire people! My dream is one day I will be able to inspire people through my writing too. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

