Reading

Top of my TBR List #1

I thought a cool feature to do on this blog would be a series called ‘Top of my TBR List’. The series would list three books that I’m excited to read and explain why I’m excited to read them. The series will give a sense of who I am as a reader, as well as provide some variety between the book reviews and writing updates.

 

 

16096824Photo CreditGoodreads

So the first book high on my TBR list is A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Mass.  You might be saying to yourself, “Breeny, where have you been? The third books was just released!” And to be honest, I’m asking myself the same thing. I’m not sure why I’ve held out on reading this series for so long, but now that the third book has just been released it doesn’t make any sense for me to NOT read them all. Plus, A Court of Thorns and Roses will add variety to my usual YA contemporary summer reading list. If you’ve read any of the three books from the A Court of Thorns and Roses Series, make sure to comment your thoughts below!

 

28458598Photo CreditGoodreads

The second book that’s high on my list and already has 8 holds at the library (*cries*) is When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon. Its release date is at the end of May, and I’m beyond excited. First off, the main characters, Dimple and Rishi, are PoC and the book falls under #ownvoices. In addition, the novel is set in the San Francisco Bay Area, which is another bonus. Lastly, I’m expecting some of the stereotypes surrounding arranged marriages to be broken down. The main plot of the book is that Dimple and Rishi are arranged to be married, and I’m interested in seeing how Sandhya Menon constructs that narrative while (hopefully) breaking down stereotypes. Along with the light summery tone, I think When Dimple Met Rishi is a strong contender to be one of my favorite 2017 summer reads.

 

31447601Photo Credit Goodreads

The final book on the top of my TBR list that I’m going to share with you all today is Noteworthy by Riley Redgate. There’s been a mild amount of buzz surrounding this novel, which was released two weeks ago. It’s about singing and I can’t sing but am always singing, so of course I had to add Noteworthy to the top of my TBR list. An additional factor is that the novel is set at a performing arts boarding school, a combination of two of my favorite types of settings. Noteworthy also addresses and breaks down gender norms, AND the main character is Asian-American and is questioning whether or not she’s bisexual. A double whammy of diversity. I’m excited to get my hands on a copy of Noteworthy because I think it’s going to majorly exceed my already high expectations.

Hopefully some of these wonderful books are on your TBR list, and if not you should definitely add them!

Happy reading, happy writing, and happy blogging!

25 thoughts on “Top of my TBR List #1

  1. I haven’t read A Court of Thornes and Roses and I’m not sure if I will or not.
    I did see Note Worthy at the bookstore the other day. The title and cover caught my eye, but it was on a really high shelf so I couldn’t look at it. It sounds good from what you say. Maybe I’ll give that one a go!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have read and LOVED Noteworthy, I really hope you’ll feel the same way 🙂 I can’t wait to read When Dimple Met Rishi either, I keep hearing fantastic things about it, it does sound like the perfect summer read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like this idea!
    I’m not sure about A Court of Thorns and Roses (I’m honestly not that interested, at least at the moment) but the other two are definitely on my to-read list! Not too high up at the moment but they’re on there- I just need all the time in the world to read everything, haha

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Awesome list, Breeny 🙂 When Dimple met Rishi looks really good! I’ve seen the book cover around, but honestly, the first time I’ve actually read the synopsis was here lol!

    Jo-Ann

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A Court of Thorns and Roses is so good! Well, at least until you read the sequel which is so much better, and then the last book in Feyre’s trilogy is truly epic (although ACOMAF will always be my favorite). Fantasy is definitely a favorite of mine. Well, if you ever read it I’d be interested in hearing your thoughts!

    I haven’t read When Dimple Met Rishi but I really want to! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just got A Court of Thorns and Roses from the library, and I’m super excited to read it. I’m planning on doing a review once I read it. Right now I’m reading Noteworthy, and I’m really enjoying it so far.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve heard so many great things about When Dimple Met Rishi and Noteworthy so I hope you enjoy them as much as everyone else has! Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous choices! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. A Court of Thorns and Roses has been at the top of my tbr FOREVER, and I think I’m going to start the series once I get on summer vacation…My friend just finished Note Worthy, and really enjoyed it! My library has been giving out free ARCs (made my week) and she got it there. I started reading some of it during a lockdown in Spanish class, and that didn’t go so well. (I had to write a essay for homework on why reading isn’t acceptable during lockdowns 😒😂) But from the first chapter or so I read, I agree, it seems good! How are you liking it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m going to start the series when I begin summer break as well! I’m about 300 pages into Noteworthy, and I’m greatly enjoying it so far. All of the characters are so well developed! And that’s so awesome that your library gave out free ARCS!! I’m sorry about the essay, but the story is hilarious =) Glad everything ended up being okay though!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I loved Noteworthy so much, hope you’ll love it just as well! I’m eager to read When Dimple Met Rishi, I only heard great things about this book so far 🙂 Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I really want to read When Dimple Met Rishi, but I forgot to pick it up before my book buy/ borrow ban started (I own an overwhelming amount of books I need to read).
    I definitely think you should read ACOTAR, the second one was the best in my opinion which doesn’t happen very much.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ahhhh, When Dimple Met Rishi has been on my TBR list since I heard about it! It looks so fun and cute and fluffy! Sadly, my library doesn’t even have it (yet . . . I plan to convince them to buy a copy), so you’ll have to tell me all about it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

