Writing

Writing Update #1

On this blog, in addition to blogging about the books I read, I’ll also be blogging about the books I write. Welcome to the first post of the ‘Writing Update’ Series!

Currently, I have 14 books on hold at the library, so it’ll probably be about two weeks before I send another book review your way. In the meantime, you all will get maybe two writing updates, or other bookish posts, while I wait to pick up my library haul.

As of the month of May, finals are fast approaching. Unfortunately, my writing has been on the backburner as I navigate my way through the last storm of tests, projects, and get ready to fight the gatekeeper of summer, finals. However, through the midst of it all, I have been doing a mish-mash of brainstorming and plotting. I have a new novel idea that I’m planning on drafting this July during Camp Nanowrimo. As of now, it’s effectively titled ‘Summer Novel’, which surprisingly does encapsulate it well. It’s all about a summer road-trip, family, and being true to yourself even if you’re still trying to figure out who that is. It’s an #ownvoices book, as the main character, Zinnia, is black (as am I =)) and biracial. I’m beyond excited to start writing her story and to start drafting again.

I have a playlist on Spotify that’s a little more than 50 songs long. If you’re interested in listening to it, drop a comment below and I’ll respond with the link (and a thank you for commenting). Music, and making playlists, are a huge source of inspiration for me, and I highly encourage any writer who’s stuck in a rut to listen to a few tunes.

Recently, I’ve been thinking about the upcoming summer (four more weeks guys, I can make it) and what I want my goals to be. I’ll definitely make a blogpost detailing those goals, but I can definitively say that my #1 goal is to finish the first draft of ‘Summer Novel’. Also, a little sidenote, I know some writers worry about not writing everyday. I can tell you all that I haven’t written any part of a novel in the past month of so, and that doesn’t make me feel like any less of a writer. I’ve dabbled in poetry, I’ve brainstormed, I’ve made a playlist, and I’ve plotted. Though I haven’t been writing, I’ve been constantly keeping my creative mind open and nourished. You don’t have to write every day to be a writer. Some days simply thinking about your novel is more than enough.

How has writing been going for everyone? Update me in the comments below, and have a wonderful Thursday!

 

 

 

 

 

31 thoughts on “Writing Update #1

  1. Okay, so first of all, I would just like to say how BEAUTIFUL your blog is! I love it so much!

    Secondly, CAAAAMPPP NANOWRIIIIMOOOOOOOOOO!!! WHOOOOOOO! I absolutely LOVE the WriMo’s!!! They are the blood running through my veins. They are the wind whipping through my hair. They are the reason I actually sit down to write because otherwise I’m a lazy bean. #help

    ‘Summer Novel’ sounds like a super fun book to read/write! I hope it goes amazingly well for you! Be sure to keep me posted on how it’s going. Hearing how well other writers are doing with their WIP’s helps me break through my writing slumps, haha! XD My WIP is doing pretty well so far… I’m struggling with the concept of ‘themes’, but I’m trying to break through procrastination and actually give it some serious thought… XD

    (it’s not working) XD

    ~ Kenzie

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yay!!!! And awww! That means a lot to me… Sometimes I feel like it’s the dumbest idea I’ve ever had for a book, lol! 😂😂 And same! I’m hoping to be able to participate, but I’m not sure if I’ll be able to this year…

        Like

      2. Ideas are never dumb, and even if something doesn’t work now that doesn’t mean it won’t later. And you can totally do camp, even if your goal is just to write a few sentences each day.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’d love to see your music list for your summer novel. I honestly haven’t been doing well with writing lately (actually for the past couple months) and I probably won’t be able to dedicate time for it for a while till things settle. But I love hearing about everyone’s projects and your sounds delightful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awh thank you very much, that’s so sweet of you! I’m sending you positive vibes with your writing. Once everything settles down, your writing will be there for you when you’re ready. I’ll send you an email with all of the songs because it’s a long playlist, but it’s connected to a personal account. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Breeny! As promised, I did check out your blog. I loved the aesthetics as well as the content on here. You’re doing some fabulous work! 🙂
    I’ve been stuck in a bit of a writing rut lately. I hope I can overcome that in June. I hope your exams are going well and maybe we can encourage each other’s writing through June as well as July’s Camp NaNo. Good luck with all your endeavours! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And we’ll definitely link up during June and Camp Nano! I always love talking to other writers, and Camp Nano is one of my favorite times of the year. Good luck with your writing! My advice would be to listen to music, go on Pinterest, or even watch tv! If you need anyone to bounce ideas off of, feel free to reach out.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Breeny 🙂 I’ve popped over from the YA Book Bloggers Goodreads group, love your blog so far! Your ‘summer novel’ sounds fab, I can’t wait to hear more – do you take part in Beautiful People by Cait @ Paper Fury? It’s a really fun way to get to know your characters with a new set of 10 questions each month. I’m currently plotting a new WIP as I’ve finished my first novel (a YA fantasy) and sent it off to betas, so I’ll be first drafting for Camp Nano next month too 😀 I’m going for a Secret Garden inspired, LGBT+ YA contemporary. Exciting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That was so nice of you to pop over and check out my blog! I greatly appreciate it. I’m glad that you’ve enjoyed my blog so far! I’ve seen quite a few bloggers take part in Beautiful People so I’ll definitely have to check it out further. Congratulations on finishing your first novel!! That’s such an amazing accomplishment. Your second novel sounds awesome. Have fun plotting and keep me updated on how Camp Nano ends up going for you!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hiiii!

    Your novel idea sounds so cute – and much needed! I love that you have a playlist for your novel because I do the same thing! It really helps me think about what music the main character would listen to and/or songs that reflect aspects of the plot. I’d love to see your playlist as well!

    I hope writing is going well for you so far! Working on a new project is the most fun! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your W.I.P sounds excellent! Do you have it planned out or are you just going to see where the road takes you? (See what I did there?)

    And I really must see about creating a playlist to listen to while writing, (I’m one of those who can’t write in silence.) Good luck with your summer goals too!

    I wouldn’t trust myself with 14 library books, I’d be terrified of losing them so I try not to take out too many at one time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I love that. I’m planning on planning it chapter by chapter as I go (see what I did there?) Like I have chapter 1 outlined, and once I write it then I’ll outline chapter 2.

      I can’t write in silence either, and I can’t write to songs without lyrics either. I know that’s kind of weird. I keep all the books in a tote bag at the foot of my bed, that way I don’t lose any.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. If I listen to lyrics it has to be on the radio or I’ll constantly be flicking through for the right song. Otherwise it’s instrumental.

        Your planning method is something I’d not thought to do, but it appeals to me. Usually, I try to plot the whole thing out, which I get quickly bored of because I want to write! I may give your way a go.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

